God Refuses to Become A Citizen of Your ‘Little Kingdom’

“when I am content to live in my little kingdom of one, it is God who gets squeezed out. He will not shrink himself to the size of my solitary kingdom. He cannot abandon his only glory or deny his sovereign plan. He will be God, and he will not be anything else. The kingdom that is to capture and motivate us was meant to be no smaller than the size of his grandeur. I was never meant to shrink the size of my life to a size smaller than the contours of his glory. I was never created to establish my own kingdom, but to give myself in wholehearted, sacrificial devotion to his. The psalmist in Psalm 145 captures the expansiveness of this kind of living with a picturesque phrase. He says that the greatness of God no one can fathom. A fathom is a measurement of water depth. When something is fathomless, it means it is so great that it cannot be measured. It has no bottom to it. The psalmist is basically saying that if you lined up every human being who has ever lived, and if they each dug down into God’s greatness, one after another, they would still not come to the bottom of it! His glory is just that deep. The size of my living was meant to be connected to the depth of his greatness. The fathomless greatness of God is the more that I was designed to live for.” -Paul Tripp
Leave a Reply

