Looking At Life in Light of Eternity

“How, then, should we view this world and our existence in it? The Puritans would answer, sub specie aeternitatis-“in the light of eternity”: we must “consider” (Rom. 8:18) things as they will be rather than what they are now:
I see a world in decay and I consider a renewed, perfect trouble. world to come.
I watch my body deteriorating. I consider my new body.
I can make no sense of things I consider a world where all is here integrated.
I am tempted to sin here. I consider a world of perfection to come.
I see in part now. I consider a time when I shall see Jesus.
This is our calling: to gaze deliberately and see things as they will be rather than as they are.” -Derek Thomas
Leave a Reply

