One Who Lost a Son

“In his book Lament for a Son, philosopher-theologian Nicholas Wolterstorff writes of the tragic death of his son in a climbing accident. In a preface to the book, he writes: “If someone asks, `Who are you, tell me about yourself,’ I say-not immediately, but shortly-`I am one who lost a son.’ That loss determines my identity; not all my identity, but much of it. It belongs within my story.” Our heavenly Father is defined by the fact that He, too, is One who has lost a Son – handed over to sinners for sinners.” -Derek Thomas
Leave a Reply

