What is a Redeemer?

“We need a Goel. We need (as it is often explained) a “Kinsman-Redeemer”. This, in brief, was how the regulation worked. When a situation of need arose in Israel, it was the right of the immediate next-of-kin to come to the rescue, and say, ‘Have you got a debt? Let me pay it. Have you got a burden? Let me bear it. Have you got a problem? Let me solve it. Have you got a need? Let me meet it.’”

“What is this Goel? He’s the one who has the right to say, ‘You’ve got a problem. Give it to me. You’ve got a burden. Let me bear it. You’ve got a debt. Let me pay it as though it were mine. You’ve got a need. Let me meet it.’ In this way, we are to understand the word redemption? [sic] This is precisely what the Lord meant when he allowed his Old Testament people to think of him as their Redeemer, and spoke of himself as such. This is exactly what Jesus has done: ‘You’ve got a burden— your sin. Give it to me. You’ve got a debt in the sight of God. Let me pay it. You’ve got a need you cannot possibly meet. Let me meet it for you.’”

Alec Motyer, A Christian’s Pocket Guide to Loving the Old Testament

Leave a Reply

