Broken Systems of Justice, Systemic Problems

“I often think of a case I had involving a fourteen-year-old who had run away from her foster home with a group of young men from her neighborhood. Instead of being her allies and protectors, they’d taken her to an empty apartment and gang-raped her. I could tell that she had learned at a young age that she couldn’t trust adults; she wore an attitude of skepticism and hostility like a suit of armor…

In the end, we got a conviction, but I’m not sure the verdict meant much to the girl. She vanished after the trials. I asked some investigators to help me try to find her, but, though we had gotten a sketchy report that she was being trafficked on the streets of San Francisco, we could never confirm it. I never saw her again.” -Kamala Harris, The Truths We Hold

Leave a comment